Google = Unsuccessful

As a teenager I have often wondered what I would find if I were to Google my name. I was always surprised to find nothing about myself. Tonight when I typed my name into Google (using Kim Cooper and Kimberly Cooper) I once again found absolutely nothing about myself! None of the Facebook links were to my profile, my blog didn’t come up, and neither did my About Me page. I am non-existent in the Google world!

I like to tell myself that the reason I am not famous on the internet is because there are so many Kim (or Kimberly) Cooper’s. When I got my Social Insurance Number at age 13, I was told that Kimberly Renee Cooper is one of the most popular names in Canada.

That being said, I do not have feelings about my current footprint, as I do not have one. :S

2014-02-05_22-07-23 2014-02-05_22-06-54

 

As you can see in these photos, no information about me showed up!

On a side note, I LOVE Snagit!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Google = Unsuccessful

  1. Sam says:

    I think it is both a positive and a negative that you currently don’t have a digital footprint. At least you don’t have anything unflattering that you have to try to remove- which can be impossible to do on the internet! As for not having an online presence don’t despair just keep working and I’m sure you can distinguish yourself from the crowd! Also did you try your name + Saskatchewan? I got much more specific results pertaining to myself once I tried that.

  2. Thanks Sam! I will try adding Saskatchewan behind my name. Before this class I really didn’t want anything about my personal life on the internet so until now I haven’t seen it is a negative thing that I am not all over the internet. Although I see the benefit, I like to have privacy in my life. I have nothing to hide, but still don’t feel super comfortable with being found via a google search.

  3. No question Kim, you have a challenge. One thing I might suggest is that you develop a very strong brand of say, “kimrcooper” Use the same username in as many spaces as possible. I’m sure you experience this as you sign up for sites so you may have to experiment a few times to find the unique naming convention. In the end, it will help you differentiate.

Leave a comment